logo
banner








"Let me give my background story, I'm incredibly short. I'm 4'11 with a short torso, short shoulders with decent hips AND I was getting married. I found a wonderful dress for my wedding, but my original idea of a tailor fell through and I'm kinda of researching (well more like scrambling), for a seamstress who can alter my wedding dress.
I found great reviews for Kim's Alterations and I was scraping for time at this point. I was a bit nervous because I've personally haven't gotten anything altered, let alone a wedding dress and it was a month before the wedding - really pushing it on time.
Honestly, I don't regret my choice and so happy I found Kim's! She was reasonably priced, surprisingly quick, and flexible. She was friendly and her work really shows her years of expertise! My dress too was no walk in the park. It has embroidered lace appliques, lots of layers, and a LONG train (Mori Lee Blu 5370).
Due to my short height, she warned me she'll have to cut a lot of material out and she'll try her best to save the appliques designs. I trusted her and she proved her word. My dress was perfect as if it was made for me. It was flattering and she saved the embroidered lace appliques, to the point it doesn't even look altered, just a shrunk up version of the original (in a good way, of course).
Long story short:
1 month before the wedding and 3 alterations sessions later (with shoulders shortened, dressed hem, bustled, cups added, and a belt added) it was perfect! She did so wonderful that I left a great tip! It was so worth it! She did such a fantastic job that I even recommended her to my maid of honor and my mother, who like me, are short. She still proved to a fabulous seamstress!
I definitely recommend her and I hope my review was helpful for those who are struggling to find alterations and crunching on time. I will be only going to Kim's for my alterations for now on."

Julieann M.
5.0 star rating 2/11/2019 - Yelp


"She's amazing! I've lost a lot of weight and she's been able to take in numerous pants and dresses so they fit!"

Cheryl P
2/2/2019 - Facebook



"I would absolutely recommend Kim’s Alterations for any occasion! I’ve used this place several times over the years and I have always felt that the quality of work is above and beyond. From prom dresses to bridesmaid dresses they always go above and beyond!"

Nicole R.
1/29/2019 - Facebook


"I have taken a number of summer maxi dresses to Kim's Alterations for hemming and had great results. Just recently I had taken in a pair of real jeans "I" had great difficulty customizing to fit my body. With my difficult body type my waist is too small for my large legs, so there is much to do to make them fit. Not pretty but clothing covers the waist. In an attempt to assure the hem and length looked professional , I took them in for hemming. One can not hide a hem under a shirt/sweater/blazer. The jeans are too shirt. When I took them to Kim's I stated that I did not want them too short. I wear them with flat and a slightly wedged shoe. I called and was told that they could not be lengthened. I could make them capris. The jeans are a vintage bell bottom type of cut. Evidently the bell can be "tapered?" I have enough capris. I need jeans for the cooler/winter weather. One pair of favorite jeans down. I don't know about you but I miss a fav pair of jeans. Two stars as my dresses came back as anticipate, however, my jeans are well......"

Lu F.
2.0 star rating 11/15/2018 - Yelp


"Kim is the best around! I had a bridesmaid dress that was at least 2 if not 3 sizes too big. It was literally falling off of me before I took it in to Kim. She just about rebuilt the whole dress. She took it in, shortened it and added padding to the chest. She did an amazing job! Every time I went in for a fitting she had it ready when she said it would be. I used to go to a local dry cleaner to have dresses hemmed but I knew this dress needed so much more and Kim came through with flying colors. All in all Kim is amazing!"

Holly F.
5.0 star rating 11/5/2018 - Yelp



"I’ve been there several times to have dresses altered. Quick, reasonable and quality work, best alterations in town."

Jennifer C.
10/29/2018 - Facebook


"I just took 2 dresses to Kim, she did an amazing job on both!"

Michele L.
10/11/2018 - Facebook


"I needed a last minute hem that I had no time to alter myself. I found Kim's Alterations from previous reviews and knew that I would be in good hands. Kim promised my altered dress within 2 days- with a $10 rush fee of course. But hey, I did expect it. The dress was hemmed beautifully! If anyone needs alterations Kim will take care of you!"

Deana J.
5.0 star rating 9/26/2018



"We absolutely LOVE her! She is so good and fast! She did an amazing job on a bridesmaid dress last year for my daughter who is in a wheelchair. We needed her to build in a pocket for a medical device and keep part of it accessible for us, but still make sure it was all hidden and that it laid the way it was supposed to given she was in a wheelchair. She did an amazing job and made my daughter's day so much easier while standing up in a wedding."

Shelley B.
8/26/2018 - Facebook


"Kim is an amazingly kind person who is great at her craft and offers very reasonable prices! She's the only person my husband and I go to for alterations and we are always more than happy."

8/14/2018
Leah M. - Facebook


"I cannot say enough good things about this amazing woman. Every time I need something sewn, she makes it easy and comfortable. I would give her ten stars if I could! It's not easy to find a seamstress with her knowledge and ideas. She's so nice and accommodating... and her store is almost as adorable as she is!"

Marissa M.
7/23/2018 - Yelp



"Had a last minute event to go and needed a dress hemmed in the same day. After reading reviews I chose to go to Kim. She was AMAZING! She had the dress done in a few short hours and the dress was perfect!! Very sweet, work is excellent and prices are great! So glad I found Kim's Alterations and will definitely be going back!!!!"

Samar N.
7/19/2018 - Yelp


"Took my mother of the groom dress here for alternations. They did an awesome job. Took it up in the shoulders in on the sides and a hem. It’s so professional you can’t even tell!"

Sue N.
6/18/18 - Facebook


"She is such a sweet person who really knows what she’s doing!! She also works with you and sees what alterations you will feel comfortable with."

Jamie C.
5/16/2018 - Facebook



"Kim is amazing!! I took a $200 pair of AG jeans to her to shorten the length, and I also took a wrap-dress to her with all sorts of issues. The straps were too long, falling off my shoulders and exposing too much cleavage. The jeans were hemmed perfectly; the hem looks like the original hem. The dress was also beautifully done. It now fits like a glove on my shoulders and chest. Aside from her doing a beautiful job, I had requested the jeans to be done in a few days instead of a week. She had both pieces done when I came to pick up the jeans."

Alyssa B.
5/9/2018 - Facebook


"I don’t usually have to find someone to do alterations, but I needed some work done on 2 bathing suits and that’s when I found Kim’s Alterations. I felt that she was reasonably priced, she did a great job and she had all the work done on time as promised. It was a pleasure to meet her and definitely will go back to her in the future."

Midge S.
5/6/2018 - Facebook


"First time using Kim's alterations, and I will definitely be back! I bought a dress online and wasn't feeling it until Kim shortened it for me. It looks entirely different in a GREAT way and I am in love with the dress now! I took my dress in on a Friday evening and it was ready in 1 week. She is super sweet, friendly, and deserves all the 5 star reviews! If you're looking for alterations, look no further. Don't waste your time anywhere else, she's the one to visit!"

Emily W.
5/6/2018 - Yelp



"I highly recommend Kim's alterations. Not only is she friendly and talented, her prices are great along with the timely service. She was able to alter 2 suits for me in less than 4 hours, and let me tell you they are sharp!!!! The best in the business. Thank you, Kim's Alternations!"

Lumbros K.
5/1/2018 - Yelp


"Outstanding service, I have been going to Kim's for years for all my alterations."

Joseph A.
4/25/2018 - Facebook


"I'm so glad I found Kim on Yelp! I needed a dress altered for a wedding that was less than a week away and she had it done in 4 days. I had the dress hemmed, straps shortened, and the bust taken in. My boyfriend also had 2 dress pants hemmed during that time frame. She was so nice, and the process was quick. Everything was reasonably priced and way more affordable than the last place I've gone to. I'll be coming back to her with all my altering needs, I suggest you do too!"

Lily N.
4/15/2018 - Yelp



We took my husband's suit pants to Kim to be altered and they were perfect! We went back later for her to alter a formal gown and a few more pants and dress shirts. Each one was so professionally done, and everything was done on time. Highly recommend her for any alterations! Her store moved to the north side of Hall road in January of 2018 so be sure to find her at her new location!""

Bethany G.
1/26/2018 - Facebook


"My daughter wasn't in love with the dress she was wearing to homecoming, so she ordered a new one online at the last minute. When it arrived it was too long, but otherwise very nice looking. I sent a Yelp message to Kim midway through the week to see if she would have time to alter it by Saturday, and she wrote right back encouraging us to bring the dress in. She even gave us an estimate. When we went into the shop she quickly pinned the dress and offered to steam it and remove the dog hair, which I wouldn't have thought of until after we took the dress home. She is very professional, friendly, and helpful. I would recommend her to anyone and will go back."

Jill D.
10/25/2017 - Yelp


"I've never been disappointed with Kim's work. She's so sweet and gets the job done. Price is reasonable as well. I've brought things from prom dresses to tops to her and there's never been any complications. I will definitely continue to come back here!"

T S.
10/21/2017 - Yelp



"Being shorter than average I have a hard time finding shirts that are the right length. I had about a dozen I bought but because they looked so long on me I never wore them. I took half in to Kim and she helped me decide the perfect length.
I picked them up when she said they would be ready and they all fit perfectly. The hem on the bottom of the shirts were as good if not better then when I bought them.
I ended up bring in the other shirts for her to hem. She's a very sweet person and gives you her honest opinion. I highly recommend this place."

Joe B.
10/19/2017 - Yelp


"I will always trust my garments with Kim! I have taken every day clothing items & specialty items (bridesmaids/formal gowns) to her for alterations. Everything was done quickly, efficiently, and at a reasonable price. I'm so glad I found her & I would recommend this place to anyone."

Sam K.
10/17/2017 - Yelp


"I have taken 3 bridemaids dresses to Kim and she did a amazing job!! Each dress fit like a glove and was perfect!"

Sabrina J.
7/31/2017 - Facebook



"Took my daughter's wedding dress to Kim's to fix the alterations that someone else did. She did a fantastic job and had it back to us in a week! Thanks Kim!"

Kathy C.
7/23/2017 - Facebook


"This is an excellent place to go for alterations!! I have taken several items to her for alterations from dresses to jeans and she has consistently done a wonderful job!"

Farrah D.
7/18/2017 - Yelp


"Kim is great! Super friendly and reasonably priced. I would recommend her to anyone looking to getting a bridesmaid dress or bridal gown altered."

Laura H.
6/29/2017 - Yelp



"My daughter's prom dress needed some major alterations. Miss Kim did an excellent job. The work she did on the dress was fabulous. I would highly recommend her."

Kristen K.
5/27/2017 - Facebook


"She does a very great job! I called her about hemming my work pants and she did it for me in the same day! There is an added fee for the same day service, but it was worth it!"

Kelly H.
4/11/2017 - Yelp


"Been coming here for a few years now, always fast, perfect and a great price! Love getting things altered here."

Monica B.
2/17/2017 - Yelp



"I've gotten my bachelorette jumpsuit, wedding dress and reception gown all altered by Ms Kim. She's great at what she does."

Chelsea L.
10/24/2016 - Facebook


"Kim does an amazing job. I have a formal evening wedding to go to in California. She asked when I needed the dress. She had it done well before then. She is clearly talented and a perfectionist with her work. Her store is open and bright. She gives you tips for what to wear with your dress if you ask. Her rates are very reasonable too! I will use Kim for any and all alterations I have in the future. Thank you, Kim! I'm going to feel like a princess!"

Nancy G.
9/24/2016 - Yelp


"Kim did an excellent job on the bridesmaid dress I had. The bridal store ordered a size 12 for me (I understand they run small-- but geesh I am only 135lbs).. and there was a lot of alterations to be made.
First, the dress was extremely unique especially at the top! Kim altered the breast area, off the shoulder strap (which was ornate), both sides of the dress to contour and fit my curves, my midsection, and the length.
Although I am donating the dress for another woman to enjoy it for a special occasion, I will say that after Kim altered it, I felt more confident and even sexy; whereas I once felt like a huge heifer in a potato sack! I will be brining my suit jackets and skirts to Kim as well for future alterations. She is FAST, QUICK, and AFFORDABLE!"

Ayhem M.
8/24/2016 - Yelp



"Great place to have any alteration done plus Kim is fantastic to work with. I have taken a few of my suit pants, jeans and golf pants to her. Work is completed fast and most importantly friendly. I would highly recommend this place to anyone!"

Tom S.
4/26/2016 - Yelp


"I was referred here by a friend of my husband's. Very cute business! The inside is decorated so nice and Kim was so accommodating and helpful when I needed a last minute alteration the week of my wedding! She said she would stay there for me when made it just before closing. She sewed on my belt/sash and steamed my dress and had it ready 3 days later for me. Very nice owner and I will be back/make recommendations in the future! Thank you, Kim. My dress looked beautiful and helped make our wedding day PERFECT!"

S G.
9/21/2015 - Yelp


"I've had two bridesmaids dresses altered so far... a lace sheath dress I needed altered to fit my curves and a blue silk dress that of course the bridal shop ordered two sizes too big. Kim does great work and at really good prices! Cheaper than most alterations at bridal shops. I sew myself and I would take all my sclothes to her for alterations!"

Dana R.
5/6/2015 - Yelp